A time to feel great, a time to feel like crap, etc.

May 2, 2010 at 10:17 am Leave a comment

I went to the Tucson folk festival last night. No, I’m not a huge fan of folk. Yes, I can appreciate the emotion and to-the-bone honesty in the music.

No, it was not a bunch of hippie clothing booths that drew me downtown. Yes, it was Chris Hillman – he of the Byrds,, Flying Burrito Brothers, R&R Hall of Fame, Manassas, etc.

No, he did not sing the lead of the Byrdsoriginal version of the following song,( set to music by Pete Seeger in the early ’50s and taken almost verbatim from the Old Testament Book of Ecclesiastes) but he sure did a damn good job (dig his mandolin playing!)

Audio nerd note: I was very excited to try out my new Olympus LS-10 audio recorder. No external mics or plugging into an audio board-I just held it in front of a speaker. It could have used more bass, and Chris’ vocals should have been louder and mixed up front, but I didn’t want to screw with the live sound.

http://media.podcastingmanager.com/3/4/3/9/4/158783-149343/Media/chris%20hillman%205110%20(2).mp3

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I’m so pissed I AM Shpilkes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


