A Threesome: Patrick Swayze, Jung and Me.

February 7, 2010 at 11:41 am Leave a comment

Patrick Swayze and I were sitting in nearby booths at an all-you-can-eat buffet. Sort of like a Golden Corral but a bit more upscale (i.e. sauces were reduced rather than thickened with flour or cornstarch, vegetables weren’t overcooked.) I’m not saying I like one better than the other- give me a chicken-fried steak made with fat n’ flour white gravy any day-I’m just being descriptive.

We were attracted to each other, but Patrick was with another woman who just so happened to the be married-with-child daughter of a good friend. She was all over him. but he kept looking at me. Meanwhile the servers kept bringing out more food-so much that they ran out of room and were putting roasts on chairs and casseroles on the floor. I was attempting to balance my eye-lock with Patrick (can I call him Pat at this point? No? OK. Not a big deal.) with trying to grab some of whatever new food item was being put out.

I started pigging out on macaroni and cheese, scalloped potatoes with big chunks of ham, braised short ribs-all the stuff I wish I had  waiting in the oven for me every evening but only have the time and patience to cook once a month. But even stuffing myself, didn’t diminish my ardor for Patrick, nor his for me. As dreams often do, jump cut to P. and me, wrapped in each others’ body, fulled clothed and surrounded by all that food.

What the hell did this dream mean? I liked Dirty Dancing, I admired the fact that he was still married to the same woman from his pre-fame days, I was sad when he died, but he didn’t register that high on my Richter scale of personalities.

If everyone in my dream is a manifestation of something in my personality, which Jung believes fits into of a limited number of archetypes, what part of me is a guy who danced well and never got to the top tier of fame?

Or as my husband Dave would say, are dreams just mind excretions, no more meaningful than taking a dump?

If he’s right, then dreams are even more important to me. Nothing is more vital than taking a healthy shit every day. You young punks can laugh, but Karma says you’ll be there in a few decades.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hipness is…what I say it is Don’t kill the piano player, aim for the singer

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Roberta Gale

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


