Hit me with your best club

July 5, 2009 at 8:52 am Leave a comment

The email below is an actual missive to some friends after a July 4th party.

Ok- our womens club was born last night on Dawn’s bed. Like a pupae, it will now take shape into an eventual butterfly. Or not.
I am such a nerd and my mind is still in high school. I started thinking about all this cool stuff we could do with our club-we could sponsor a dog or a third world kid, video or audiotape ourselves and make movies or podcasts to put up on the internet, do crafts, climb every major peak in the US, eat dim sum.
And then-this is the ultra-queer part-I was thinking about what the we could name it-like the Sisterhood of Traveling Pants or something similarly idiotic, what kind of induction ceremony we would have for new members, etc. I was thinking it could involve fire and sacrificing S’mores and rice cakes, although to me, sacrificing rice cakes is no sacrifice at all, unless they’re the kind with BBQ seasoning, i.e. gag suppressant. (Disclosure: the last two words of last sentence stolen from a “Simpson’s” episode.)
Then I realized that this kind of club would become a full-time job and people would just stop showing up for “meetings” because in my overly-ordered mind, we would call them “meetings,” which would turn a lot of people off, including me. In other words, I was creating a club that I would probably check out once, and then blow off.
So let’s just try to get together once every month or so and do something fun involving at least one or more of the
following: liquor, food, and sharp tongues, and laughter. If we agree on anything, it’s what will not be involved. I suggest Wiccan rituals, crying over two minutes, and discussions about fiber.

If you are not totally turned off by the above, let me know what weekend you’ll be in town over the next month.

love,
Roberta

P.S. I will not be the secretary just because I can write. The only notes will be in our minds to drift around our temporal lobes, or the lobe of your choice.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Tony! Toni! Tone! Get me out of this loser life for $69.99 plus S&H! it’s not too late to be paranoid about swine flu!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


